First-ever EV Charging Station inaugurated in Nay Pyi Taw

The opening ceremony of Myanmar’s very first EV Charging Station was held at Thabyaygon market in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday. It was attended by the Union ministers, the chairman of Nay Pyi Taw Council, the deputy ministers, the deputy mayor of Nay Pyi Taw, the permanent secretaries and officials. Nay Pyi Taw Council Chairman U Tin Oo Lwin remarked and Chairman U Naing Phyo Kyaw of NPK Motor Co Ltd explained the establishment of the MG EV Charging Station (NPT).

Then, Union Commerce Minister U Aung Naing Oo, Union Construction Minister U Myo Thant and Nay Pyi Taw Council Chairman U Tin Oo Lwin cut the ceremonial ribbon to inaugurate the charging station and Union Information Minister U Maung Maung Ohn pressed the electric button to launch the signboard of the Electric Vehicle Charging Station. Then, the attendees observed the MG EV Charging Station (NPT) and conducted the test driving of electric vehicles.

The National-level Leading Committee on Development of Electric Vehicles and Related Businesses launched pilot projects of establishing charging stations in Nay Pyi Taw, Yangon, Mandalay and along the Yangon-Mandalay Expressway under the guidance of the SAC Chairman Prime Minister. NPK Motor Co Ltd opened the first charging station in Nay Pyi Taw and will operate the EV taxis, and plans are underway to establish further charging stations across the nation.

Source: The Global New Light of Myanmar

Tags: No tags